Owosso Speedway

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

New Headline

New Headline 2

New Headline 3

My Race Pass Header


Owosso Speedway

Curtis Spencer Makes His Mark on Autograph Night

For the first time in 2023 it was a Chamber of Commerce Day at the historic Owosso Speedway. Fans came out in droves to meet their favorite drivers on autograph night. Following the autograph session the cars would take to the track for competitive racing action!

The MacAllister Rentals Sport Compacts started the night for a change, with the A Division first up. The story the first two races was the dominance of Matthew Elsey, but on this night Elsey was just as strong, but the competition is beginning to close the gap! Defending Champion of the class Johnny Eastman. The two top drivers would trade fastest laps back and forth for the duration of the feature, but in the end it was Elsey taking his third straight over Eastman. Canadian Tyler Neumiester was third over Pat Dent and Nicholas Murdock. The B Division would be a race of attrition, as evident in winner Jeff Asmus having half of his front bumper ripped off as he pulled into victory lane after his first win. He was able to overcome previous weeks winner Zane Cruz by a fender! Abby Kolb, Ollie Workman, and CJ French completed the top five. The C Feature was another adventurous excursion as Scott Elsey took his first win of the season over first time visitors Bennie Miller and Brad Robison. Maddy Orta and Josh Shiver completed the top five. Matthew Elsey was the fastest qualifier with a 17.434.

The Valley Truck Center Modifieds would be next up and they would have a thrilling main event. Curtis Spencer would emerge victorious in a hard fought battle. Nick Clemens would hang on to second over Terry Trost. Corey Finley had a very impressive run to come home fourth over a hard charging underdog in Steven Pelky. Curtis Spencer would also set the mark in qualifying with a 15.474

The M&K Truck Center Pure Stocks were next and Lonnie Saumier won his second straight feature, but it was far from straight forward! Saumier started eighth on the starting grid, while working his way up through the field, he was forced wide in turn four and clobbered the outside retaining wall, flattening the right front tire. What could have been a race ending moment, saw Saumier pit under caution, get the tire changed and make it back to the race, starting at the rear. Saumier would defy all odds as he marched back to the front to claim his second straight victory. Defending Champion Jason Spencer was second over Bob Farley, a returning Dan Gokee, and Jordan Gustin. Spencer was fastest in qualifying with a 18.294.

The Reefer Peterbilt All-American Trucks would put on a wild show for their feature event. Tempers would flare in the first portion of the race, but the back half would be a dominant redemption for Zane Cruz after just barely missing out earlier in the night in the MacAllister Rentals Sport Compact B Feature. Cruz would go on to take his second Truck win of the season over Greg Long Jr., Greg Long III, Josh Shaw, and Anthony Hart. Cruz would also set a new track record in qualifying with a 18.857.

The final event of the night was the Durotech Automotive Street Stocks. Ron Hart and Lonnie Saumier both took the first two feature wins of the season, and they would be the ones to sort out the winner of the third. Hart would emerge victorious as Saumier had to settle for runner up after winning earlier in the night. Jeff Owens, NIck Lechota, and Bo Smith completed the top five, while Lechota was fast qualifier for the second time this year at 16.452.

Article Credit: Chris Fobbe

Submitted By: Chris Fobbe

Back to News

Next Event

Driver Registration

Latest Photos

Latest Videos

Our Partners