Owosso Speedway

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

New Headline

New Headline 2

New Headline 3

Bowen Wins Bowles Memorial


Owosso Speedway

Bowen Wins Bowles Memorial

Despite threatening skies, the Owosso Speedway managed to persevere and put on a full show of racing, despite several neighbors who canceled their events earlier in the day.

The Reefer Peterbilt All-American Trucks would be the first feature event of the evening. Zane Cruz would continue his winning ways in another strong performance to pick up his sixth win of the year. Anthony Hart would attempt to chase down Cruz lap after lap, with the two trading fastest laps back and forth over the duration of the event. Ultimately Hart would be forced to settle for second. Ryan Cords would be a hard charging third, with Brad Reseigh and Greg Long Jr. completing the top five. Anthony Duvernois and Zane Cruz were heat race winners, while Reseigh was fastest in qualifying with a 18.905.

The Gross Construction Late Model Sportsman division. The race would come down to three drivers who broke away from the field, Jon Beach, Lane Head, and Chris Stearns. Stearns was a last minute fill-in for Chris Munson who was unable to make it to the track. Stearns would be in contention throughout the event, but Jon Beach would be the one to lay claim to victory, his second of the year. Head was second with Stearns, Matt Hogan, and Jon Rangle completing the top five. Mike Green and Beach took heat race wins, with Beach completing the hat trick with fast qualifier honors at 15.841.

A full field of Valley Truck Center Modifieds were on hand for another barn burner. The race would be highlighted by an insanely close battle between David McManus and Aaron Taylor. The two open wheel aces would barely lose contact with each other for the last half of the race. Taylor would get the nose under McManus but momentum would keep the Birch Run, Michigan driver out in front when the checkered flag flew. Taylor was second. Tim Lahar would back up his victory with the Midwest Modifieds Tour with a solid third place run. Josh Ware and Steven Pelky would complete the top five. Tim Ryan, Corey Finley, and Curtis Spencer would take the heat race wins. Fast qualifier honors went to the “Super Yooper” Josh Ware with a 15.231.

The MCR Dwarf Cars would be next up for their final appearance of 2023, with their crown jewel, the 25th running of the Tommy Bowles Memorial. Cei Bowen and Eric Hoffman would have an instant classic, the two racers never straying far from each other the entire race distance. After trading the lead back and forth several times, a lapped car would cause Hoffman a stutter step, allowing Bowen to decidedly get out in front, going on to take the victory. Eric Hoffman was second over Matt Kemp, Zack Nichols, and Troy Hoffman. Nicole Olmstead and Bowen were heat race winners. Matt Kemp collected another track record at 15.423.

The MacAllister Rentals Sport Compacts would have three great features to complete the evenings events. A season high 39 Compacts would check in to the pits. The C Feature would be up first. Mike Schmidt and Randy Kretzinger Jr. would duke it out for the duration of the feature, beating and banging to the finish. But it would be Schmidt getting the win, with Kretzinger second over Abby Kolb, Kyle Neumeister, and Corbin Kelley. Randy Moore and Zane Cruz would have a similarly close battle, with Moore taking the win over Cruz for his first victory of the year. Jeff Asmus, Bobbi Jo Jernigan, and Dan Hassard completed the top handful of drivers. Nicholas Murdock would complete the trifecta of first time winners in the Sport Compacts, taking his first victory in dominating fashion over John Eastman Jr., Blake Gokee, Nolan Gross and Ira Hosner. Heat races were won by John Eastman Jr., Josh Sattler, Asmus, Maddy Orta, and Kretzinger. Eastman was also fast qualifier with a 17.716

Earlier in the day, the Showcase Auto Sales Mini Wedges were in action. Jackson Wheeler won the Senior Division feature over Abby Maurer. Blake Childers Jr. won the Junior Feature over Brentley Evans and Cohen Childers.

Article Credit: Chris Fobbe

Submitted By: Chris Fobbe

Back to News

Next Event

Driver Registration Buy Tickets!

Latest Photos

Latest Videos

Our Partners